Bout of Books 7.0: If you like… Then you’ll enjoy… Challenge & Giveaway

Written By: Kellie - May• 19•13

boutAlas, the time has come. We’ve reached the last day of Bout of Books 7.0 and there are still way too many books to read. So, how about one last challenge to end a great week of reading?

THE CHALLENGE

What is the one thing we all need after spending a week working away at our TBR piles? Recommendations for more books! So I want you to recommend a book to readers of another book. Example: If you like Harry Potter, then you’ll enjoy _________.

Once you’ve thought of something, you can either write it up in your BoB post for today and link to it in the comments, or you can out your recommendation right in the comments. Just make sure you leave me someway to get in touch with you if you win, because we have A LOT of prizes.

First Prize (1): The following ebooks in the winner’s choice of format.
– You Are Mine by Janael Falor – If you like The Girl of Fire and Thorns, then you’ll love You Are Mine.
– End Dayz by Kellie Sheridan – If you like Dark Inside, then you’ll love End Dayz.
– Follow the White Rabbit by Kellie Sheridan – If you like Alice in Wonderland, then you’ll love Follow the White Rabbit.
– Ignite by Erica Crouch (ARC) – If you like Angel Burn, than you’ll love Ignite.
– One by LeighAnn Kopans – If you like X-Men, then you’ll love One.
– The Last Witch by Debbie Dee – If you like Goose Girl, then you’ll love The Last Witch.
The Ghost of Josiah Grimshaw by Suzy Turner – If you like Harry Potter, then you’ll love the Morgan Sisters.
December Moon by Suzy Turner – If you like Twilight, then you’ll love the Raven Saga.

Second Prize (5): Two randomly selected ebooks from the above list, in the winner’s choice of format.

DETAILS

To take part, you must…
– Be signed up for Bout of Books 7.0
– Have participated in the challenge by midnight tonight (12 CST or 1 EST). You can either include a link to your entry, or enter right in the comments!

– Winners will be chosen at random, but I will verify that you a) are signed up for BoB and b) that you participated in the challenge
– This giveaway is international… so long as you have an email address you can receive books in, you can enter!

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

28 Comments

  1. Amy says:

    If you like I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella (or really, any of her books), you’ll love Holly’s Inbox by Holly Denham.

    Thanks for hosting the challenge! Can’t wait to see what everyone else puts! :)

  2. If you like The Book Thief, then you’ll like The Girl with a Pearl Earring (both historical fiction with simple, poor, deep main character).

    If you like Pride & Prejudice, then you’ll like Persuasion also by Jane Austen (and shorter)!

  3. If you like Simone Elkeles Perfect Chemistry series, you won’t want to miss Katie McGarry’s Pushing the Limits

  4. Julie says:

    If you like Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, you’ll love Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr.

    Looking forward to reading other recommended books! Thanks for hosting this challenge.

  5. Ahh, I love these kinds of things :) Getting recommendations based on the books you already know and enjoyed is always fun – except when they come from Amazon and you realize the only thing they stuffed your inbox with are the current YA bestsellers :D Anyway, the link to my entry is here:
    http://booksmartie.blogspot.de/2013/05/bout-of-books-sunday-update.html

  6. Rikki says:

    I posted my recommendation on Twitter: https://twitter.com/rikkir77/status/336120308639600641
    Thanks for the challenge!

  7. If you liked The Infernal Devices, (Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, Clockwork Princess), by Cassandra Clare then you will like Shadow and Bone,( book 2 Siege and Storm releases 6/4) by Leigh Bardugo.

  8. If you like Paranormalcy by Kiersten White…try School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins. They have the same sort of humor and both girls hunt paranormal humans/creatures. I also did a post here http://floodbooks.blogspot.com/2013/05/if-you-likethen-youll-enjoy-snarky-bird.html. Thanks for hosting! I love trying to find new read-a-likes, so I can’t wait to see all the posts.

  9. Octavia says:

    I had a lot of fun with this one! Even came up with 3 that fit perfectly (to me)! :)

    http://www.readsleeprepeat.org/2013/05/bout-of-books-challenges/

  10. Awesome challenge, I recommended a few, I concentrated mainly on the lesser known books.

    My Recommendations

  11. Great challenge. My TBR list is bound to grow enormously when I read other responses though!

    Here’s my entry: http://studentspyglass.com/2013/05/19/bob7-if-you-liked/

    Thanks for hosting :)

  12. Sarah says:

    This was a fun challenged. Listed a couple of different books for this one. Scroll to the bottom to see my list for the challenge here.

  13. Shirley says:

    If you like Andrea Cremer’s Nightshade series, you’ll love S.M. Reine’s Seasons of the Moon series

  14. Caitlyn Santi says:

    Hi, I had fun with this challenge. I did mine a little differently the If You Like… are books but the Then You’ll Enjoy… Part is a TV show. If that makes me in eligible for the giveaway, that’s completely fine, I just wanted to share my link in case anyone wanted to check it out! :)
    http://www.justyouraveragereviews.blogspot.com/2013/05/bout-of-books-70-challenge-day-7.html?m=1

  15. Joanydvv says:

    If you like A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray, and why wouldn’t you right? It has all the ingredients of a wonderful story. Friendship, romance, boarding school, a secret diary and a magical realm… Amazing right!?

    I especially loved this book because of the close bond between the four friends and the fact that it was set at a boarding school. I really love reading about boarding schools for some reason. I also really enjoyed the friendship between Gemma, Felicity, Pippa and Anne and the way they stuck together. I thought it made for a great book about the importance of friends and being able to rely on one another.

    Then you’ll enjoy Sisters in Sanity by Gayle Forman. In this book the main character is shipped of to this horrible camp/school for troubled youths. The only way to survive with your mental health intact is to work together. And the girls in this book do a great job of that. No magic in this one though, beside the magic that is friendship.

  16. jen7waters says:

    MY ENTRY (if I can still enter!): http://cuidadocomodalmata.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/read-a-thon-bout-of-books-7-0-day-6-progress-day-7-challenge/

    I can post it here too, I made 2 recommendations, first, if you like Delirium you will like Matched and second if you like Graceling you will like Poison Study. :)

    Thanks for the challenge!

  17. Melissa @ Harley Bear Book Blog says:

    I had done a post like this awhile ago for Valentines day so I figured I’d just paste that link for you guys to check out. I know that means I’m not entered into the giveaway, but I really wanted to share it anyway! http://harleybearbookblog.blogspot.com/2013/02/matchmaker-matchmaker-make-me-match.html

  18. Vicky Hooper says:

    Different and fun challenge – I enjoyed coming up with these recommendations, and can’t wait to read everyone else’s! Thanks for hosting! :-D

    Here’s my response:
    http://vickyhooper.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/bout-of-books-mini-challenges.html

  19. Sara says:

    How fun! I love doing this kind of thing. Which is good since I’m a bookseller. ^.^ Here’s my post: http://wp.me/p22aLn-md

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *