Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

Written By: Kellie - Aug• 26•14

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where we list top bookish things. Lists! Books! Things I love. And this week’s topic is really just encouraging me to go out and buy more books. This is a topic I can get behind. So, lets jump right in with ten books I really want to read but don’t own yet! Which I’m now realizing might be tricky due to the massive list of books I want to read and own already. I really need to find more time to read!

1. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas17234658
I don’t own this one because its not on sale yet. I got the first two books at BEA, and both years it was one of the first books I read once I got home, but this year I have to wait like everyone else and it’s killing me, especially since the reviews seem to be great!

2. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
Not only is this cover so pretty that I mussttt have a copy for my own shelf, but this is a wibbly-wobbly-timey-wimey kind of book, with alternate dimensions and all that fun stuff. I haven’t read any of Claudia Gray’s stuff before, but this sounds like a great one to start with.

3. Illusive by Emily Lloyd-Jones
The blurb for this one starts with “X-Men meets Ocean’s Eleven” soooo… yeah, I’d like to read this one sometime in the very near future. The reviews have been mixed, but I’ll be more than happy to give this one a shot.

204556824. Polaris by Mindee Arnett
I am counting down the days (or would be, if I knew the date) for this to show up on Edelweiss, because even though I’ll be purchasing a copy when it comes out, I want to read this one as soon as I possibly can. Very much a YA version of Firefly with the same character vibes and a slightly darker setting. I’d highly recommend the first book in this series, and can’t wait for the sequel.

5. Solving for Ex by Leigh-Ann Kopans
The cover for this one was enough to make me want to read it, even if I hadn’t already known that I love Leigh-Ann’s writing style. Maybe it’s wrong to want to read a book merely because it has an adorable cover, but so be it. I need this!

6. The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon
I listened to book one in this series on audiobook and will probably be doing the same with this one (Irish narrator!), reactivating my Audible account as soon as this book comes out. I loved the first one, it was a really fantastic adult fantasy read (though still recommended for YA readers).

7. Winter by Marissa Meyer
I’m pretty sure 85% of the YA book world is waiting to read this one. It’s still so far away though! Only as I’m writing this up am I noticing that even though I read book three months ago, book four is still well over a year away. Sad, sad Kellie. This series is amazing and highly recommended for anyone who likes… well, good books.

205188388. Split Second by Kasie West
Eep! How have I not read this one yet? Well, probably because I don’t own it yet but still! I thought book one was great, and loved the unique nature of Addie’s ability. Might see about picking this one up from the library though instead of purchasing it outright.

9. The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh M. O’Brien
This sounds like a pretty interesting read, arts school whose students lives are televised. And I already know I enjoy O’Brien’s writing style. Add in a cool cover, and well sign me up!

10. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
Okay, I’m cheating a bit with this one. I own it, it just hasn’t arrived yet and I cannnooott wait! I love everything Stephanie Perkins writes and have heard such good things about this book. The question is really just if I’ll reread the entire series or jump right in with the final installment.

Waiting on Wednesday: Forest of Whispers by Jennifer Murgia

Written By: Kellie - Aug• 20•14
 photo NewWoW_zpsd30de423.jpg
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases we are eagerly awaiting!


 Forest of Whispers final photo 18506004_zpsb3daba98.jpg
Title: Forest of Whispers
Author: Jennifer Murgia
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Expected Publication Date: September 9, 2014
Blurb:
Raised by an old fortune-teller within the dark veil of the Bavarian Black Forest, Rune has learned two valuable lessons: only take from the forest that which you can use, and never, never look anyone in the eye in the village. For something terrible happened in the forest long ago… and now, the whispers of a long-dead mother with a vengeful secret have come haunting.



Forced to flee all she has ever known, Rune soon learns of a legacy she is bound to–one that is drenched in fear, witchcraft and murder–a birthright that stretches beyond the grave to the trees where Rune is no longer safe.

 

 

Jennifer Murgia photo 1384944_10200610144198229_370165092_n_zpsbcfb015a.jpg Jennifer Murgia has long loved the dark and speculative — and it’s from these dark places that she weaves fantastical stories, often hoping to find truth in them. Her Young Adult novels include the upcoming Historical Fantasy FOREST OF WHISPERS (9/9/14 — Spencer Hill Press), BETWEEN THESE LINES, ANGEL STAR, LEMNISCATE & THE BLISS. She is the co-founder and coordinator of YA FEST and currently resides in Pennsylvania.


Forest of Whispers Spell Kit Giveaway
FOW Spell Kit giveaway photo 10609214_10202489859509937_601897168_n_zps54406942.jpg

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal: Helia’s Shadow Part One by K.C. Neal

Written By: Kellie - Aug• 16•14
HELIAS_SHADOW_COVER_ABBY_KCN_HlShdw_Final_6bHelia’s Shadow Part One by K.C. Neal
(The Starlight Age Series #1)
Publication date: Fall, 2014
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Synopsis:

Nineteen years ago, aliens arrived on a dying Earth with advanced technology and the promise of ensuring human survival in exchange for a place to settle. They were hailed as the saviors of humans and Earth.

Today, 16-year-old Helia wants two things in life: to step out of her over-protective mother’s shadow and become an engineer, and to stop hiding her romance with alien boy Kalo. But the world definitely isn’t ready for a human-alien romance. And worse, the human-alien partnership is crumbling. Humans are being arrested without explanation. Some of them are never seen again.

When the alien leader imprisons her mother on a false charge, Helia discovers the aliens never intended to help humans at all. Now, she must join forces with alien rebels and convince the young rebel leader that humans aren’t expendable. If she succeeds, humans have a chance at survival and she has a chance at love. If she fails, the dwindling human race dies out in slavery.

Watch for the Helia’s Shadow ARC on NetGalley in September! If you’re not on NG, sign up for K.C. Neal’s newsletter for a chance at a limited number of ARCs for non-NG reviewers (and giveaways, sneak peeks, and other goodies!).
AUTHOR BIO
K.C. Neal works in publishing and writes YA books. She likes to surf and hang out on sandy beaches, where drinks are served adorned with tiny umbrellas. When she’s not taking tropical vacations, she paddleboards, reads, writes, gardens, watches too many things on Netflix, and tells her dog, Oscar, how adorable he is.

Author links:

Cover Reveal: The Lost Locket of Lahari Anthology

Written By: Kellie - Aug• 15•14

I’m so excited that I finally get to share this with you guys as we’ve been hard at work on this for a loonnnggg time. Patchwork Press is putting out our first anthology, The Lost Locket of Lahari. The stories in this book span decades (hundreds of years if you count the prologue, which is amazing). You aren’t going to want to miss this one, and you can purchase it for yourself on September 9th!

LLoL

Add to Goodreads

In a dusty, dilapidated stall tucked away in an alcove of a bustling Bazaar in India, a man with a rickety spine and a spindly beard bends over his work bench, forging a locket with accidental magic. There’s power in a wish, and there’s nothing he wants more than for his children to return home. The locket was intricately crafted, adorned with one dragonfly for each of his children—and the power to find them.

With the guidance of fate, the locket skips through time and journeys across oceans, traveling from person to person in a constant search for the souls whispered into its vessel. Centuries after the magical old man in the Bazaar became near-forgotten myth and whispered legend, the locket has fallen into the hands of those with echoes of the six dragonflies: the empath, the dreamer, the confidant, the adventurer, the dancer, and the mystery.

In the hands of its new owners, the power of the locket adapts, bending and remaking itself to answer need. While the locket never found the children of Lahari, it found the next best thing… Their spirits.

The five novellas of the Lost Locket of Lahari anthology pause a moment in time when the locket finds the ripples of its ancestry. From the Victorian-era to the Roaring Twenties, the 1940s to modern day and beyond, this anthology is a collection of stories as dynamic as the authors themselves.

Blog Tour: Madly Deeply by Erica Crouch

Written By: Kellie - Jul• 19•14

Erica Banner

Yeah, yeah… here I am talking about Madly, Deeply yet again! But that’s because it’s just that good! If you haven’t checked out Erica’s newest release yet, now is the time! It doesn’t matter if you’re familiar with Poe’s original poem or not (I barely was), you’re going to love this one!

22237351

It was many and many a year ago, In a kingdom by the sea… Annaleigh Wells and William Calloway had a love even the angels envied. It was as if the universe spun them toward one another, like the stars crafted their souls to fit perfectly together. With a wedding on the horizon, fate had a change of heart. Whispered warnings from phantoms and morbid nightmares darkened every night—but even visions of the future couldn’t save Annaleigh. Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s poem Annabel Lee, Crouch’s period romance Madly, Deeply tells the tale of love so great, it cannot be contained in just one life.

 

tumblr_n85r8jBqDs1qbi12wo1_500-120x120Erica Crouch is a young adult and new adult author from the colorful city of Baltimore, Maryland. Her debut novel, Ignite, was published June 2013, and its e-novella sequel, Entice, was released Nov. 2013. The final book in the Ignite series, Incite, is expected 2014. A compilation of the series will be released winter 2014.

Her first new adult novel — Madly, Deeply, a paranormal romance based on Edgar Allan Poe’s poem Annabel Lee — arrives June 2014. She is working on a new adult science fiction series (Undying) due 2014, and a Robin Hood gender-swap retelling (Feathered series) due 2015.

Erica is the cofounder of Patchwork Press, an author-powered publisher of MG, YA, and NA titles. She is the head of editorial services and design, with more than ten projects to her name.

Currently, she is studying English and Creative Writing with a specialization in Fiction at Southern New Hampshire University. She is a vlogger for the YAWordNerds with over 500 subscribers. When Erica isn’t writing, she’s reading an overwhelming stack of books, watching an obscene amount of Netflix, and procrastinating.

PWP 250x250

 

New Release: Madly, Deeply by Erica Crouch

Written By: Kellie - Jun• 17•14

22237351Today is the day, folks! Patchwork Press’s newest title is officially out in the world, and it;s 100% wonderful. This retelling of Poe’s classic poem is Erica Crouch writing at her best (yet). As far as I’m concerened, it’s a must read! Especially when you consider that the ebook is only 99 cents!

Add Madly, Deeply to Goodreads

It was many and many a year ago,
In a kingdom by the sea…

Annaleigh Wells and William Calloway had a love even the angels envied. It was as if the universe spun them toward one another, like the stars crafted their souls to fit perfectly together.

With a wedding on the horizon, fate had a change of heart. Whispered warnings from phantoms and morbid nightmares darkened every night—but even visions of the future couldn’t save Annaleigh.

Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s poem Annabel Lee, Crouch’s period romance Madly, Deeply tells the tale of love so great, it cannot be contained in just one life.

Purchase Madly, Deeply
@Amazon (US) @Amazon (CAN) @Kobo @Barnes & Noble

Review: The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet

Written By: Kellie - Jun• 15•14

18775255Publisher:  Touchstone
Publish Date: June 24th, 2014
Source: ARC
Goodreads

Rating: 4/5 stars – A great way to revisit these characters that I already miss so much.

About the book: A modern adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice based on the Emmy Award-winning phenomenon, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

There is a great deal that goes into making a video blog. Lizzie Bennet should know, having become a YouTube sensation over the course of her year-long video diary project. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries chronicled Lizzie’s life as a twenty-four-year-old grad student, struggling under a mountain of student loans and living at home with her two sisters—beautiful Jane and reckless Lydia. What may have started as her grad student thesis grew into so much more, as the videos came to inform and reflect her life and that of her sisters. When rich, handsome Bing Lee comes to town, along with his stuck-up friend William Darcy, thingsreally start to get interesting for the Bennets—and for Lizzie’s viewers. Suddenly Lizzie—who always considered herself a fairly normal young woman—was a public figure. But not everything happened on-screen. Luckily for us, Lizzie kept a secret diary. 

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet provides more character introspection as only a book can, with revelatory details about the Bennet household, including Lizzie’s special relationship with her father, untold stories from Netherfield, Lizzie’s thoughts and fears about life after grad school and becoming an instant web celebrity.

Written by Bernie Su, the series’ executive producer, co-creator, head writer, and director, along with Kate Rorick, the novelist, TV writer, and consulting producer on the series, the novel features a journal-entry format and design, complementing the existing web series, while including plenty of fresh twists to delight fans and new readers alike. The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet expands on the phenomenon that captivated a generation and reimagines the Pride and Prejudice story like it’s never been done before.
 -Goodreads

Thoughts: I cannot tell you how excited I was when I heard that this book was happening. I absolutely loved the Lizzie Bennet web series, and this book was the perfect addition to an already multi-dimensional take on Jane Austen’s classic story. Of course Lizzie Bennet keeps a diary!

The book starts a little before the video blogs do, from around when Lizzie first comes up with the idea, which made for an interesting read. And I loved reading about Lizzie and Charlotte together. But more than anything else, I loved getting back to the Bennet sisters. This book offers a lot in terms of extra Jane content, which was tough at times (poor Jane!), but I loved Laura Spencer’s version of Jane, and extra Jane is always appreciated. Was anyone else excited to see Laura Spencer on multiple episodes of The Big Bang Theory?! Yay!

Overall, this was well written and I think it did a great job of capturing Lizzie’s voice. Of course, I wish it was longer and offered even more in terms of behind the scenes (especially with Lizzie and Darcy in the second half of the story) but I think I’m always going to want more Lizzie Bennet and Co.

Annnd, I think it’s time for me to finally watch my Kickstarter DVD set!

Second Opinions
@Writer of Wrongs
@The Bevy Biblioteque
@Reader of Fictions

Cover Reveal: Madly, Deeply – Erica Crouch

Written By: Kellie - May• 23•14

 

 

 

I’m all kinds of excited to share this new cover with you. For the full story on how this book came to be, I definitely recommend checking out the author’s blog post. For now, I’ll just say… I regret nothing!

22237351

It was many and many a year ago,
In a kingdom by the sea…

Annaleigh Wells and William Calloway had a love even the angels envied. It was as if the universe spun them toward one another, like the stars crafted their souls to fit perfectly together.

With a wedding on the horizon, fate had a change of heart. Whispered warnings from phantoms and morbid nightmares darkened every night—but even visions of the future couldn’t save Annaleigh.

Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s poem Annabel Lee, Crouch’s period romance Madly, Deeply tells the tale of love so great, it cannot be contained in just one life.

Add Madly, Deeply to Goodreads

 

Feature: Killer Instinct by S.E. Green

Written By: Kellie - May• 02•14

KILLER INSTINCT cover

There are some similarities between Killer Instinct and the TV show Dexter – did that show inspire Lane’s character at all? 
I’m a huge Dexter fan! The show definitely inspired Killer Instinct. I used to watch it and wonder, “What would Dexter have been like not only as a teen, but as a girl?” Fans of Dexter will see a few similarities between him and Lane. They are both stoic and introspective, and they both have a dark side that not only perplexes them but excites them.
Killer Instinct is your first thriller, and fairly dark compared to titles like The Summer My Life Began – did you approach your writing differently?
Yes, it was a fantastic experience. I wrote for me and me only. I didn’t censor myself. I didn’t worry about what I thought my agent wanted, or my editor, or my readers. I wrote to please myself. It was the first time I ever did that and it was liberating!
Lane gets a thrill out of exacting justice, but where do you get your thrills? Have you ever taken justice (even something tiny) into your own hands?
I get my thrills from adventure: kayaking, spelunking, sailing, zip-lining, hiking, etc… As far as exacting justice, I’ve been known to roll the house of an ex-boyfriend. I also keyed a guy’s car who cheated on my friend. Granted these were from my teen years, but I’m owning up. Current day, I hold a deep desire to dump dog poo on my neighbor’s lawn. He yelled at my dog and it pissed me off!
What is your next writing project? Will we see more serial killers?
I’m working on edits to the sequel of Killer Instinct. I also just finished writing my first New Adult. And I’m putting the finishes touches on another thriller (not serial killer, though).
S.E. Green author photoS. E. Green or Shannon Greenland started out writing for adults and found her voice and home in teen fiction. Her award winning spy series, The Specialists, was an ALA top pick and a National Reader’s Choice Recipient. Her latest YA single title, The Summer My Life Began, made the Barnes & Noble suggested reading list. Shannon has her Master’s in Education, teaches college classes, and is an avid adventurer. She can be found mostly in Florida where she’s outside enjoying all the Sunshine State has to offer.

Cover Reveal: Incite, by Erica Crouch

Written By: Kellie - Apr• 22•14

There’s a lot going on this week over on the Patchwork Press blog, but I wanted to take a second to share one of these events here too, because everyone needs to see this! Today Erica Crouch is finally revealing the cover for the final book in her Ignite series, Incite. I really couldn’t be more excited about this one, so check it out!

B2-INCITE-e1396882613147

Incite by Erica Crouch
Series: Ignite #2
Published by Patchwork Press
Published: Summer 2014
Goodreads
Synopsis: In this thrilling conclusion to the Ignite series, Pen and Azael return to finish what they started. The earth is in ruins, and the war of Heaven and Hell has spilled over into the mortal world.

In the frozen wasteland of the apocalypse, Azael and his band of cohorts search for Pen and Michael with orders to kill. Little does he know that his sister has incited a rebel army of her own. Angels and demons alike stand side by side, ready and willing to fight for a future they didn’t realize they could have.