Blog Tour: Madly Deeply by Erica Crouch

Written By: Kellie - Jul• 19•14

Erica Banner

Yeah, yeah… here I am talking about Madly, Deeply yet again! But that’s because it’s just that good! If you haven’t checked out Erica’s newest release yet, now is the time! It doesn’t matter if you’re familiar with Poe’s original poem or not (I barely was), you’re going to love this one!

22237351

It was many and many a year ago, In a kingdom by the sea… Annaleigh Wells and William Calloway had a love even the angels envied. It was as if the universe spun them toward one another, like the stars crafted their souls to fit perfectly together. With a wedding on the horizon, fate had a change of heart. Whispered warnings from phantoms and morbid nightmares darkened every night—but even visions of the future couldn’t save Annaleigh. Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s poem Annabel Lee, Crouch’s period romance Madly, Deeply tells the tale of love so great, it cannot be contained in just one life.

 

tumblr_n85r8jBqDs1qbi12wo1_500-120x120Erica Crouch is a young adult and new adult author from the colorful city of Baltimore, Maryland. Her debut novel, Ignite, was published June 2013, and its e-novella sequel, Entice, was released Nov. 2013. The final book in the Ignite series, Incite, is expected 2014. A compilation of the series will be released winter 2014.

Her first new adult novel — Madly, Deeply, a paranormal romance based on Edgar Allan Poe’s poem Annabel Lee — arrives June 2014. She is working on a new adult science fiction series (Undying) due 2014, and a Robin Hood gender-swap retelling (Feathered series) due 2015.

Erica is the cofounder of Patchwork Press, an author-powered publisher of MG, YA, and NA titles. She is the head of editorial services and design, with more than ten projects to her name.

Currently, she is studying English and Creative Writing with a specialization in Fiction at Southern New Hampshire University. She is a vlogger for the YAWordNerds with over 500 subscribers. When Erica isn’t writing, she’s reading an overwhelming stack of books, watching an obscene amount of Netflix, and procrastinating.

PWP 250x250

 

New Release: Madly, Deeply by Erica Crouch

Written By: Kellie - Jun• 17•14

22237351Today is the day, folks! Patchwork Press’s newest title is officially out in the world, and it;s 100% wonderful. This retelling of Poe’s classic poem is Erica Crouch writing at her best (yet). As far as I’m concerened, it’s a must read! Especially when you consider that the ebook is only 99 cents!

Add Madly, Deeply to Goodreads

It was many and many a year ago,
In a kingdom by the sea…

Annaleigh Wells and William Calloway had a love even the angels envied. It was as if the universe spun them toward one another, like the stars crafted their souls to fit perfectly together.

With a wedding on the horizon, fate had a change of heart. Whispered warnings from phantoms and morbid nightmares darkened every night—but even visions of the future couldn’t save Annaleigh.

Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s poem Annabel Lee, Crouch’s period romance Madly, Deeply tells the tale of love so great, it cannot be contained in just one life.

Purchase Madly, Deeply
@Amazon (US) @Amazon (CAN) @Kobo @Barnes & Noble

Review: The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet

Written By: Kellie - Jun• 15•14

18775255Publisher:  Touchstone
Publish Date: June 24th, 2014
Source: ARC
Goodreads

Rating: 4/5 stars – A great way to revisit these characters that I already miss so much.

About the book: A modern adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice based on the Emmy Award-winning phenomenon, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

There is a great deal that goes into making a video blog. Lizzie Bennet should know, having become a YouTube sensation over the course of her year-long video diary project. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries chronicled Lizzie’s life as a twenty-four-year-old grad student, struggling under a mountain of student loans and living at home with her two sisters—beautiful Jane and reckless Lydia. What may have started as her grad student thesis grew into so much more, as the videos came to inform and reflect her life and that of her sisters. When rich, handsome Bing Lee comes to town, along with his stuck-up friend William Darcy, thingsreally start to get interesting for the Bennets—and for Lizzie’s viewers. Suddenly Lizzie—who always considered herself a fairly normal young woman—was a public figure. But not everything happened on-screen. Luckily for us, Lizzie kept a secret diary. 

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet provides more character introspection as only a book can, with revelatory details about the Bennet household, including Lizzie’s special relationship with her father, untold stories from Netherfield, Lizzie’s thoughts and fears about life after grad school and becoming an instant web celebrity.

Written by Bernie Su, the series’ executive producer, co-creator, head writer, and director, along with Kate Rorick, the novelist, TV writer, and consulting producer on the series, the novel features a journal-entry format and design, complementing the existing web series, while including plenty of fresh twists to delight fans and new readers alike. The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet expands on the phenomenon that captivated a generation and reimagines the Pride and Prejudice story like it’s never been done before.
 -Goodreads

Thoughts: I cannot tell you how excited I was when I heard that this book was happening. I absolutely loved the Lizzie Bennet web series, and this book was the perfect addition to an already multi-dimensional take on Jane Austen’s classic story. Of course Lizzie Bennet keeps a diary!

The book starts a little before the video blogs do, from around when Lizzie first comes up with the idea, which made for an interesting read. And I loved reading about Lizzie and Charlotte together. But more than anything else, I loved getting back to the Bennet sisters. This book offers a lot in terms of extra Jane content, which was tough at times (poor Jane!), but I loved Laura Spencer’s version of Jane, and extra Jane is always appreciated. Was anyone else excited to see Laura Spencer on multiple episodes of The Big Bang Theory?! Yay!

Overall, this was well written and I think it did a great job of capturing Lizzie’s voice. Of course, I wish it was longer and offered even more in terms of behind the scenes (especially with Lizzie and Darcy in the second half of the story) but I think I’m always going to want more Lizzie Bennet and Co.

Annnd, I think it’s time for me to finally watch my Kickstarter DVD set!

Second Opinions
@Writer of Wrongs
@The Bevy Biblioteque
@Reader of Fictions

Cover Reveal: Madly, Deeply – Erica Crouch

Written By: Kellie - May• 23•14

 

 

 

I’m all kinds of excited to share this new cover with you. For the full story on how this book came to be, I definitely recommend checking out the author’s blog post. For now, I’ll just say… I regret nothing!

22237351

It was many and many a year ago,
In a kingdom by the sea…

Annaleigh Wells and William Calloway had a love even the angels envied. It was as if the universe spun them toward one another, like the stars crafted their souls to fit perfectly together.

With a wedding on the horizon, fate had a change of heart. Whispered warnings from phantoms and morbid nightmares darkened every night—but even visions of the future couldn’t save Annaleigh.

Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s poem Annabel Lee, Crouch’s period romance Madly, Deeply tells the tale of love so great, it cannot be contained in just one life.

Add Madly, Deeply to Goodreads

 

Feature: Killer Instinct by S.E. Green

Written By: Kellie - May• 02•14

KILLER INSTINCT cover

There are some similarities between Killer Instinct and the TV show Dexter – did that show inspire Lane’s character at all? 
I’m a huge Dexter fan! The show definitely inspired Killer Instinct. I used to watch it and wonder, “What would Dexter have been like not only as a teen, but as a girl?” Fans of Dexter will see a few similarities between him and Lane. They are both stoic and introspective, and they both have a dark side that not only perplexes them but excites them.
Killer Instinct is your first thriller, and fairly dark compared to titles like The Summer My Life Began – did you approach your writing differently?
Yes, it was a fantastic experience. I wrote for me and me only. I didn’t censor myself. I didn’t worry about what I thought my agent wanted, or my editor, or my readers. I wrote to please myself. It was the first time I ever did that and it was liberating!
Lane gets a thrill out of exacting justice, but where do you get your thrills? Have you ever taken justice (even something tiny) into your own hands?
I get my thrills from adventure: kayaking, spelunking, sailing, zip-lining, hiking, etc… As far as exacting justice, I’ve been known to roll the house of an ex-boyfriend. I also keyed a guy’s car who cheated on my friend. Granted these were from my teen years, but I’m owning up. Current day, I hold a deep desire to dump dog poo on my neighbor’s lawn. He yelled at my dog and it pissed me off!
What is your next writing project? Will we see more serial killers?
I’m working on edits to the sequel of Killer Instinct. I also just finished writing my first New Adult. And I’m putting the finishes touches on another thriller (not serial killer, though).
S.E. Green author photoS. E. Green or Shannon Greenland started out writing for adults and found her voice and home in teen fiction. Her award winning spy series, The Specialists, was an ALA top pick and a National Reader’s Choice Recipient. Her latest YA single title, The Summer My Life Began, made the Barnes & Noble suggested reading list. Shannon has her Master’s in Education, teaches college classes, and is an avid adventurer. She can be found mostly in Florida where she’s outside enjoying all the Sunshine State has to offer.

Cover Reveal: Incite, by Erica Crouch

Written By: Kellie - Apr• 22•14

There’s a lot going on this week over on the Patchwork Press blog, but I wanted to take a second to share one of these events here too, because everyone needs to see this! Today Erica Crouch is finally revealing the cover for the final book in her Ignite series, Incite. I really couldn’t be more excited about this one, so check it out!

B2-INCITE-e1396882613147

Incite by Erica Crouch
Series: Ignite #2
Published by Patchwork Press
Published: Summer 2014
Goodreads
Synopsis: In this thrilling conclusion to the Ignite series, Pen and Azael return to finish what they started. The earth is in ruins, and the war of Heaven and Hell has spilled over into the mortal world.

In the frozen wasteland of the apocalypse, Azael and his band of cohorts search for Pen and Michael with orders to kill. Little does he know that his sister has incited a rebel army of her own. Angels and demons alike stand side by side, ready and willing to fight for a future they didn’t realize they could have.

Review: The 100 by Kass Morgan

Written By: Kellie - Apr• 18•14

the 100

Series: The 100, #1
Publisher:  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publish Date: September 3rd, 2013
Source: ARC
Goodreads

About the book: In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland… before it’s too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust – and even love – again. -Goodreads

Thoughts: This has been a great year for sci-fi YA reading for me so far. I mean really fantastic. Spaceships, space stations, digital realities and now The 100 by Kass Morgan. The remnants of human civilization have been living in three massive ships orbiting the planet (which can no longer sustain human life) and due to dwindling resources they’re forced to send down one hundred juvenile offenders to test out the idea of returning to Earth. Earth has changed in the time that we’ve been away and so the book basically ends up reading like Lost mixed with some awesome science fiction elements.

I got my copy of this one at BEA last year but I was waiting until a bit closer to the TV start date (and didn’t end up publishing this review until long after the show had aired, even though I haven’t watcjed it yet) to read it so the book would be fresh in my mind, but now I’m kind of regretting that decision. These character and the plot are now so fresh in my mind that I’m probably going to end up all kinds of confused at the inevitable changes that the CW decides to make.

The book has five POV characters. The story switches up perspectives every chapter but also throws in flashbacks to show us how and why they got to the point they are now both in terms of criminal history, and of course romantically. The first two are wealthier than most of the other prisoners and not the types of people anyone really expected to find on this mission. The daughter (Clarke) of two leading scientists who were executed for treason, and the son (Wells) of a top political figure. And of course, they used to date, and early on it is alluded to that it is Wells’ fault that Clarke was detained and send to Earth in the first place. I really liked Clarke, but I always tend to root for the overly serious characters. I’ve yet to decide how I feel about Wells—he’s a bit of a know it all and some of the more spoilery stuff isn’t given enough justification for me to just brush it off as him being noble.

The other pair involved are a brother and sister duo, which everyone is shocked by because each family is only allowed one child, a rule that is strictly enforced. Mother’s pregnant with an unapproved child are detained until they give birth and then killed so that their child essentially takes their place in terms of rations. Not exactly sure how this works since if over three hundred years every two people are only allowed one child you wouldn’t be sustaining the population, but instead cutting it in half with every generation, but whatever. Bellamy and Octavia! I really enjoyed both of their characters and am really curious to see how they’ll evolve with the rest of the series. They’re flashbacks are less plot based and center more around their childhoods but you’ll definitely be rooting for them.

Finally, there’s Glass. Minor spoiler but although she’s initially supposed to be sent to Earth she escapes at the last second and stays aboard her home ship, essentially to give us an insider look what the politics of what is going on while the rest of the characters are trying to survive Earth. I’m not sure there’s much I can say about her without giving too much away but as far as I can tell she won’t be a character on the CW show which is surprising since her story has the most overt romance.

Overall I really enjoyed the whole package of this book and can’t wait to read more. I do wish it had been a bit longer and more fleshed out since there were some instances where things happened a little too abruptly for my taste which usually pulled me out of the story for a second to go ‘What?! Really?’ but not enough to hurt my enjoyment of the overall arc that the author planned. Definitely recommended!

Second Opinions
@The Social Potato
@Into the Hall of Books
@Writer of Wrongs

Cover Reveal: The Hit List by Nikki Urang

Written By: Kellie - Mar• 19•14

THE HIT LIST front cover (2)

The blurb: The Los Angeles Conservatory for the Arts is supposed to be a new beginning for Sadie Bryant. Moving across the country is exactly what she needs to escape the gossip surrounding her injury, the devastating betrayal of her ex-partner, and to rebuild her career as a solo dancer.

When the school announces that the annual Fall Showcase, a performance that secures a spot studying in London, will now require each dance to have a partner, Sadie’s fresh start is a nightmare. Now she has to dance with Luke Morrison, the school womanizer with a big ego. Sadie doesn’t know how to trust Luke enough to dance with him after her last partner left her broken, but Luke is determined to change that.

Then, The Hit List comes out. A game of sexual contest where guys get points for all the girls they hook up with—and it seems like every guy at the school is playing.

The girl worth the most points? Sadie.

The details:

Title: The Hit List

Author: Nikki Urang

Genre: NA Contemporary 

Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary

ISBN: print: 9781939392329, ebook: 9781939392312

Release Date: November 11, 2014

Formats: Paper, e-book

Find Nikki Online: Website / Twitter / Goodreads

Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Spring TBR List

Written By: Kellie - Mar• 18•14

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish featuring lists of all of our favorite bookish things. This week’s topic is the top books on our TBR list for Spring, which is juuussstt around the corner. I’ve split my list into two parts, the top five new releases for spring that I can’t wait to read, and the top five books that have been out for a while that I’ll finally be reading at some point between the end of March and the end of June.

Top Five New Spring Releases

dorothymustdie graduation day
in the end

1) Dorotyhy Must Die by Danielle Page – This is THE big buzz book right now, and for good reason. What a fantastic concept! I can’t wait to go back to Oz, and I get the feeling that this will be one of those books that everyone is talking about as soon as it comes out.

2) Graduation Day by Joelle Charbonneau – I’ve been hooked on this series since I first picked up book one at BEA last year, and having reread the first two in 2014 to prepare for the final installment… well, I’m pretty pumped.

3) In The End by Demitria Lunetta – While everyone else was obsessing over The Fifth Wave, this was the sci-fi book I was hooked on. Not only do I love that it’s a duology rather than a trilogy, but the writing, concept and characters of this series are all amazing. Can’t wait to see what happens next!

 

plus_one_cover the_one_cover

4) Plus One by Elizabeth Fama – Ummm… did you see that cover?!

5) The One by Kiera Cass – I really enjoyed the concept and characters behind The Selection and The Elite and I can’t wait to find out what happens to America and the other Selection girls. There’s also a bit of a topsy turvey love triangle going on, but I’m convinced!!! I finally picked the right side to root for. Yeah, I’ve probably just jinxed it.

 Top Five Books I’m Most Excited to Read This Spring
11408650 11870085
night broken_front mech.indd 6) The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – Erica got me this one for Christmas and I STILL haven’t found time to read it, which is slowly killing me. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this series and can’t wait to check it out for myself.

7) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – This will be a reread for me. Sort of. Actually, my goal for before the movie comes out is to listen to the audio book, which I’ve heard good reviews for. I’m both excited and preemptively heartbroken to visit these characters again.

8) Night Broken by Patricia Briggs – Before I loved YA, I loved all things Urban Fantasy. Most of the series I followed over the years have drifted away for me, but this one I will see right through to the end. Patricia Briggs is such an amazing writer and the supernatural world she created is nothing short of epic. Highly recommended.

 

12812550  13618440

9 & 10 ) The final books of The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor – I’ve read and loved book one but have been holding back on finishing the series until I can enjoy it all together. The reviews I’ve heard for Days of Blood and Starlight have been a little more mixed than I would have liked so I hope by reading these books together I can really appreciate the entirety of this series exactly as intended.

Review: How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

Written By: Kellie - Mar• 13•14

How I Live Now

Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books
Publish Date: November 30th, 2004
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

Rating: 4.5/5 – Definitely an unusual read but I’m so glad I decided to give this one a chance.

About the book: “Every war has turning points and every person too.”

Fifteen-year-old Daisy is sent from Manhattan to England to visit her aunt and cousins she’s never met: three boys near her age, and their little sister. Her aunt goes away on business soon after Daisy arrives. The next day bombs go off as London is attacked and occupied by an unnamed enemy.

As power fails, and systems fail, the farm becomes more isolated. Despite the war, it’s a kind of Eden, with no adults in charge and no rules, a place where Daisy’s uncanny bond with her cousins grows into something rare and extraordinary. But the war is everywhere, and Daisy and her cousins must lead each other into a world that is unknown in the scariest, most elemental way.

A riveting and astonishing story. -Goodreads

Thoughts: How I Live Now tells the story of Daisy, an American teenager who is sent to live in England by her incredibly selfish father who is on the brink of building a new family. It’s more convenient for him not to have her there, so he sends her off to a country on the brink of war. Daisy moves in with her aunt (dead mother’s sister) and four cousins and for a while things are pretty idyllic (I didn’t really want that part of the story to end) and then while Daisy’s aunt is at a summit in another country, all hell breaks loose, leaving five teenagers completely on their own in a world that’s about to fall apart.

The two main complaints I’ve seen about this book are about the writing style of the first section and the romantic relationship that Daisy has with Edmund (reminder: her cousin). Daisy and Edmund’s relationship is never something that is portrayed as okay or acceptable. Daisy knows it’s wrong, but with everything else that’s going on, she just doesn’t care. She finds comfort where she can, and basically shuts the rest of the world, and their judgement, out. Their relationship was a side effect of everything else they were going through, including the lack of parental supervision or structure to their lives. It’s also not the primary focus of this story by any stretch, so please don’t let that stop you from picking up this book.

The writing style on the other hand… I loved! Daisy has a VERY teenaged voice and this story is written in the same way that someone might tell a story verbally. It’s hard to explain, and a little hard to adjust to at first but made for such an interesting read. There were no sections of dialogue, just Daisy relaying more or less what someone else said. Her voice also rings very true in that she doesn’t really focus on her own anorexia. It’s never really spelled out (and for a while my eternally optimistic mind wanted to write it off as her just being incredibly thin) because Daisy doesn’t really think that much about it. Seriously, this book is worth

There’s a small magical realism element as well—which again, I was half inclined to write off as the characters intuition and such. Most of Daisy’s cousins have inherent extra abilities. Isaac and Piper have fantastic gifts when it comes to animals, and will actually sit there and just have conversations with their dogs (Daisy doesn’t really go into the specifics of what that might look like), and Edmund is definitely kind of psychic, always knowing exactly what Daisy is thinking.reading for the voice/writing style alone, but of course there are other great qualities to this story as well.

Most of the story though focuses on survival. First on how the characters deal with their only parental figure being away, and then once the war escalates they all have to find new ways to function in their new and always changing situations with and without each other. I found the war elements fascinating as the army starts commandeering farms in order to produce food for the masses while also trying to stay hidden from enemy forces.

How I Live Now is a really quick read and they’ve just made a movie so I absolutely recommend you check this one out. If you’re even a moderately fast reader you can be finished in a day and this story is definitely worth your time.

Purchase How I Live Now
Amazon (US) Amazon (CAN) The Book Depository

Second Opinions
@The Book Smugglers
@Peace, Love, Books